It’s a New Day, Right?

Because this his has been a very-not-fun week.

Sweetness has entered into the thicket of 3.5 disequilibrium and wow! I think she read the manual and memorized it.

Thursday was a doozy! She had about 8 meltdowns, of which 3 lasted for 10 or more minutes, at the top of her lungs. About what? Oh, not getting a treat she wanted, me making her eat some peanut butter to get her blood sugar up so she wouldn’t be so crazy-making, her sister looked at her wrong. You know, the usual 3.5 stuff. But I did NOT want to be around her, as she was pushing every single button I had and some I didn’t even know existed.

Friday was slightly better, but man! More meltdowns about what seemed to be nothing.  Dh read my body language right and sent me off for a massage. I came back home, a little better off. We had an early supper, checked out a possible new place to live, and got the littles ready for bed.

As we were reading our story and winding down, dh and I noticed Sweetness’s cheeks were red. That, combined with the runny nose, finally alerted me to the fact that she might have something going on. But the living room and dining room and kitchen were (mostly) clean and I was exhausted–so exhausted that I fell asleep before 9 and didn’t get up until after 8.

Flash forward to this morning. Dh gets ready for church. I get the girls’ clothes and get myself ready. I come upstairs and Sweetness looks at me and says, “I’m sick. I can’t go to church.”

And the light came on. People that feel bad, act bad.

Yes, 3.5 disequilibrium is not fun. Add in starting to get sick (probably with muscle aches and such) and my poor little girl was lacking tools in a big-time way to deal with her feelings.

And here I was. I’m supposed to be the adult and yet I don’t pick up the clues that my daughter wasn’t feeling good.  Aiyiyi.

Next time, I’ll know. And I will choose to not react with anger at the button pushing. (because I KNOW there will be a next time 😉 )

About randomteacher

Alphabetically speaking I'm a mom, a Seventh-day Adventist Christian, teacher, a student, a wife. In all these aspects, I'm always learning and putting together my learning. As an ENFP on the Myer's-Briggs Inventory, I also process things externally, so this time, I figured I'd save on my phone bill and blog about things instead

Posted on March 17, 2012, in The Journey. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Found your blog today and have enjoyed reading! Looking forward to new posts…

Leave a Reply

