Wait! Who AM I?

Well, welcome to my world. 🙂

Who Am I?

Oooh, that’s a very good question! And one that I would love to answer. 😉 I was born in South America and my parents, who were missionaries there at the time, adopted me when I was about 8 days old. 5Except for one year in the States, we lived down there until just before I turned 7. Then we came to the US—the Midwest to be specific—and stayed. Well, my parents did at least, all through my grade school through high school years. I was in the Midwest as long as they were, and even longer! :bwahaha

I worked at a boarding academy in the Southwest for one year, between my sophomore and junior years. After finishing at Union College, I taught in Asia for over two years before coming back to the US to work on my master’s degree. I’ve lived in the Great Lakes Region for, let’s see, almost 9 years now.  I’m currently working on my terminal degree in curriculum & instruction.

When we got pregnant with our first daughter over 3 years ago, my husband (aka Pitmaster—think BBQ) and I got a crash course into parenting. Who knew there were so many options and so much information out there?!

As we sifted through things, one particular philosophy of parenting kept coming up: grace-based discipline. I read through things, talked with other moms, talked with Pitmaster, prayed, prayed, prayed.

And then Sweetness was born. And we KNEW that we wanted to treat her like the gift from God that she is. Since I had a great support team, I was able to feed her the way God designed (nursed on cue) and we decided to love on her and discipline her the same way God works with us.

When Light came along, she just fit right in with our family. Lucky for her, we were more confident in our choices as parents. We’d already seen how well grace-based discipline helped us with our firstborn.

As a Seventh-day Adventist, I put the Bible as the top of the list of the ways to learn about God and His character. Everyone else is below that. Ellen White is a great supplement to flesh out our knowledge. And I have my print resources and seminary friends I call on for knowledge in learning the Hebrew meanings/logic/culture and the Greek meanings/logic/culture.

Since I am a student at heart so that I can be the best possible teacher, I am always learning about the subjects that I’m interested in. As an ENFP, that means I have a lot of knowledge about many things (since I flit from one interest to the next 😉 ). Because I love to be able to help others discover things for themselves, I know how to find current and past research. God gives some of us the ability to go deeply into a subject and become renowned experts in most of the details and minutia of that area. God gives others of us the ability to absorb quickly in a variety of areas to create a big picture. The latter is how God created me.

So, that’s where I’m coming from. Those are my biases that you get to understand so that as you read through, you have a big picture understanding so that we can engage in great dialogue. And that’s why I started this blog–so that I could write out our journey into grace-based discipline through an SDA perspective.

About randomteacher

Alphabetically speaking I'm a mom, a Seventh-day Adventist Christian, teacher, a student, a wife. In all these aspects, I'm always learning and putting together my learning. As an ENFP on the Myer's-Briggs Inventory, I also process things externally, so this time, I figured I'd save on my phone bill and blog about things instead

Posted on May 1, 2011, in The Journey and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

