Special K Cottage Cheese Loaf

One of my great victories as an SDA SAHM is mastering the cottage cheese loaf, aka Special K loaf. It was also what we had for lunch yesterday.

I found the recipe here, originally. I’ve made some adjustments and it is, if I do say so myself, pretty good!

Here’s what you need:

2-4 eggs

Large carton of cottage cheese

1 stick or so of butter (about 1/2 cup)

1 package of onion soup mix

OR

1/2 onion, finely sliced and 2 Tablespoons of broth (like George Washington broth)

Corn Flakes or Special K or Rice Krispies. Pretty much any crunchy flakes cereal that’s not sweet about 6 cups

Melt butter and put into mixer. Add in everything else. Mix together until it looks like a mush. Having a little help you is optional. ;)

Then add in some more cornflakes and mush them in by hand.

Unless you don’t like it extra crispy. In that case, just disregard adding extra cornflakes at all.

Now for the secret to my success. I don’t use a casserole dish. instead, I use that brown silicone pan and make loaf bites.

Almost everyone likes the crunchy part of the casserole, I figured, so might as well give them what they want so they’ll eat it up! I’ve also used muffin pans and they are good too.

So put your mush in the proper spots, put the oven on 350, stick it all in and let it cook for 20 or so minutes, until they’re super-crispy golden brown.

Healthy? Not so much.

Super-easy to make and eat? Yes! Even the 1-year-old loves them!

About randomteacher

Alphabetically speaking I'm a mom, a Seventh-day Adventist Christian, teacher, a student, a wife. In all these aspects, I'm always learning and putting together my learning. As an ENFP on the Myer's-Briggs Inventory, I also process things externally, so this time, I figured I'd save on my phone bill and blog about things instead

Posted on May 8, 2011, in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I haven’t made this since my kids grew up and my husband died, but all of a sudden I thought “gee, I’d like to eat a Special K loaf”. This recipe is different than mine but I can tell it’s a good one! Thanks for bringing it to mine,. I’m going to a friends house who is not an SDA, nor a veggie and she doesn’t like cottage cheese. We’ll see how this turns out

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

